Diverging Drafts

So I never got around to writing that poem based on the female stock photos – instead I have been obsessed with working on numerous drafts of a poem based on the photo – “The Falling Man.”

It’s an iconic image I stumbled upon years ago at the time of 9/11 and read an article about for a magazine writing class that was incredible (Found here).

It’s one of those haunting images that I just knew I had to write about. I feel so connected to it, that the pressure to get the poem just right has been driving me nearly insane. After a few drafts, this is where I am… I am sure I will completely rework it. More to come, Hope you enjoy! Share your thoughts below!

The Falling Man: 9:41:15 am.   falling-man

It’s like you slipped amongst two stones
and lost your balance somewhere
between the murky well water
and the sky reflected in it.
Surely, you hadn’t meant to fall.

I know because I caught you
looking lost in your descent
and when I stilled you
for a moment in my mind’s eye
it was as if I could have fixed you –

turned you right side up
parallel, vertical, parallel and proper.
The jaunty angle of your legs
meant skipping rather than slipping,
or jumping, into eternity.

One thought on “Diverging Drafts

Leave a Reply

