You can Work From Home

While I so wholeheartedly disagree with the message and lyrics of this song, I can’t help but sing it continuously. It’s so catchy. I try to help it, but I really haven’t been successful in stopping myself. So tonight, I will paraphrase Fifth Harmony to make my point:

You don’t gotta go to work (unless of course, you do)
But you gotta put in work (#truth)
We can work from home (that’s the point huh?)

I spend so much of my day trying to get things done. Completing tasks and making satisfying red lines through black to do list items. This is my natural inclination, though the desire to create and play is still so vital to my well being. I don’t always give that part of me the time it deserves. Like many of us, I have a day job to attend to, and I don’t have endless hours to dedicate to my writing. After a long day at the office, it can be hard to psyche myself up for something that, though it brings me joy and fulfillment, is also work too.

Tonight I found myself free writing for close to two hours rather than assembling the bookshelf in my new apartment, doing my laundry, and finishing unpacking – all the things I had skipped yoga to do. And I felt so guilty about this for a bit. Why waste all of this time when there was so much else to do? After so many years of flexing my creative muscles and knowing that this is what I want to do and what brings me so much joy, it’s surprising that I have to continually validate my work to myself. But here I am once again.

Tonight I found myself so inspired by Rupi Kaur’s book Milk and Honey, which I have read twice in the past five days alone, and Sufjan Stevens’ album Carrie & Lowell, which is a perennial favorite of mine, that I got swept up into the messy work of it all. The drawing, the doodling, the words, the poems, the sentences, the fragments, the dreams, the memories that fill each nook and cranny of my page. And I remembered, like I always do, how much meaning this work brings me.

At the end of the day, this is my work. Not the 9 – 5, or the laundry, or the perfectly set up apartment to come home to. But sometimes, I get confused and I get bogged down in the details. Have you made time to do your work today?

Leave a Reply

